CMW Indie Award Nominee!

The 11th Annual Independent Music Awards, or Indies as everyone calls them, are set to happen the night of Saturday, March 12th at the Canadian Ballroom in the Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Toronto. Nominees for the awards have just been announced and Arcade Fire, Danny Fernandes, JRDN and Marianas Trench lead the way with three nominations apiece.

Part of Canadian Music Fest, the Indies “acknowledge, promote and honour achievements of Canadian and international artists in the independent music sector.”

If you’re in the city during the week of CMF, which happens between March 9th and 13th, you should give some serious thought to attending the awards. Performers on the night include Shad, Hollerado, Bombay Bicycle Club, Hannah Georgas, Desperate Union and one of the greatest entertainers on the planet, Janelle Monáe. Tickets for this event can be purchased for $30.00 at Ticketmaster,,, Rotate This and Soundscapes.

Doc Walker is nominated for Country Group of the Year! Congratulations and good luck Doc!

Doc Walker (Open Road Recordings)
Carolyn Dawn Johnson (Dancing Lily/Roadangel)
Chad Brownlee (MDM Recordings)
Deric Ruttan (Black T)
Gord Bamford (Royalty Records)

For a list of all the 2011 nominees, visit